Wednesday, December 30, 2015

Blog Tour - The Rogue Not Taken (Scandal & Scoundrel #1) by Sarah MacLean 5star Historical Roguish Read. . .

Tasty Book Tours

The Rogue Not Taken

Scandal & Scoundrel #1

By: Sarah MacLean

Releasing December 29, 2015

Lady Sophie’s Society Splash
When Sophie, the least interesting of the Talbot sisters, lands her philandering brother-in-law backside-first in a goldfish pond in front of all society, she becomes the target of very public aristocratic scorn. Her only choice is to flee London, vowing to start a new life far from the aristocracy. Unfortunately, the carriage in which she stows away isn’t saving her from ruin . . . it’s filled with it.

Rogue’s Reign of Ravishment!
Kingscote, “King,” the Marquess of Eversley, has never met a woman he couldn’t charm, resulting in a reputation far worse than the truth, a general sense that he’s more pretty face than proper gentleman, and an irate summons home to the Scottish border. When King discovers stowaway Sophie, however, the journey becomes anything but boring.

War? Or More?
He thinks she’s trying to trick him into marriage. She wouldn’t have him if he were the last man on earth. But carriages bring close quarters, dark secrets, and unbearable temptation, making opposites altogether too attractive . . .

I must say that my partiality and 5star rating may have much to do with the fact that I have been with this particular historical world since the first series, 'Love by Numbers', came out. I followed it through 'The Rules of Scoundrels'. Up to this first release, 'The Rogue Not Taken', in this new series, 'Scandal & Scoundrel'.

This one has something more to offer me and my yearning desire to be immersed in this world of romance by chance and not by design. This heroine, Lady Sophie Talbot, feels she is the least likely to have anything to do with the society world her mother and sisters so desperately want to be a part of. This fr me is the bang to start off this series. We are able to observe the Talbot family construction from the eyes of the one person that wants nothing to do with the society that she has been cast into. 

I very much enjoyed the straight forwardness of Lady Sophie. I loved seeing just how much she loved her sisters to take a stand for them and stand up for them. She did not allow others to she her doubt of who she was and what she was. She was young but knew who and what she was. She also knew what she did and did not want out of life. She is resourceful.

Kingscote, “King,” the Marquess of Eversley, may have met the one woman that he could not charm. She is infuriating, passionate, intelligent, intriguing, and many other things that King should not be thinking about Lady Sophie Talbot.  All that changes in his need to tell off his father and her need to escape a scandal. Their journey towards the border will result in many a things happening along the way. New friends, old friends, a gun shot, a pick-pocket, a handsome doctor, honey, gin, bandages, hot tea, and quite a few more things that may sound out of context here. 

Go on this journey. See where it takes you. See the truths that are uncovered. The relationships mended. The doors opened and some closed. It will be a read you will not soon forget. 

I am most certainly looking for more from this series. I do expect to see five books in this series. Since they have been gaining momentum from the first series 'Love by Number' with 3 books and then on to 'The Rules of  Scoundrels' with 4 books. The Talbot girls have much to offer to this society and I am awaiting to she what that maybe. The next book in this series 'A Scot in the Dark' can only have me wish that its King's Duke friend from Scotland and one of the feisty Talbot sisters. I know which one I would like to see with him. I guess I will see if that happens. 

As I try to say honestly and often, grab your favorite blanket, a warm corner, a mug of a hot drink, and don't forget you book/e-reader and dive right in for historical roguish ride in the the series Scandal & Scoundrel.

Intro from Sarah MacLean
Being shot on the Great North Road isn't exactly a thing people expect to happen, and Lady Sophie Talbot finds herself in the rooms above The Warbling Wren pub, under the welcome care of a rather mad doctor and the watchful eye of the rather infuriating (and infuriatingly handsome) Kingscote, Marquess of Eversley. There are worse things, she supposes. Or are there? Not for King.)


“If you want a bath, you’ll have to accept my help,” he said.

She pursed her lips at that, her gaze settling longingly on the steaming bath. “You mustn’t look.”
“I wouldn’t dream of it.” It might have been the most obvious lie he’d ever told.

Somehow, she believed it, nodding and throwing back the coverlet to step out of the bed. She came to her feet, the top of her head at his chin, and he resisted the urge to help her across the room. “How do you feel?” he asked, hearing the gravel in his words. He cleared his throat.

“As though I’ve been shot, I’d imagine.”

He raised a brow. “Clever. There's food when you’ve bathed." The words summoned a low growl from her, and her hands flew to her stomach. Her cheeks turned red, and he smiled. “I take it you are hungry.”

“It seems so,” she said.

“Food after the bath. And then sleep.”

She met his gaze. “You’re very domineering.”

“It’s a particular talent.”

“What with you being called King.”

“Name is destiny.”

She moved past him to the high copper bathtub. He resumed his place against the wall, arms crossed, watching her carefully as she reached down, her long fingers trailing in the hot water as she sighed her anticipation. The sound was like gunfire in the room—pure, unadulterated pleasure. It was delicious.

King stiffened. He was not interested in the lady’s pleasure.

If only someone would tell his body that.

Author Info

Sarah MacLean grew up in Rhode Island, obsessed with historical romance and bemoaning the fact that she was born far too late for her own season. Her love of all things historical helped to earn her degrees from Smith College and Harvard University before she finally set pen to paper and wrote her first book.

Sarah now lives in New York City with her husband, baby daughter, their dog, and a ridiculously large collection of romance novels. She loves to hear from readers. Please visit her at


To follow Sarah's world of the Aristocracy and there other halves begin here:

Love By Numbers
Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake (Love By Numbers, #1
Ten Ways to Be Adored When Landing a Lord (Love By Numbers, #2
Eleven Scandals to Start to Win a Duke's Heart (Love By Numbers, #3

The Rules of Scoundrels
A Rogue by Any Other Name (The Rules of Scoundrels, #1
One Good Earl Deserves a Lover (The Rules of Scoundrels, #2
No Good Duke Goes Unpunished (The Rules of Scoundrels, #3
Never Judge a Lady by Her Cover (The Rules of Scoundrels, #4

Scandal & Scoundrel 
The Rogue Not Taken (Scandal and Scoundrel, #1) December 2015

A Scot in the Dark (Scandal & Scoundrel, #2) Expected 2016